Tax Rates 2016 for Lantana, TX 76226

 

It’s that time of year again.  The year is over!  Meaning a half-way point for teachers, a fiscal beginning for businesses, and that the gym is over-crowded with resolutioners that are really going to get fit this year.

And taxes, glorious taxes.(For those of you who can’t read sarcasm in this, note it.)

Because I got married and changed careers this year, I basically feel like I’ve been given a knife and asked to build a house.  My finances have transferred from mine to ours, and as a business woman, I want to do the best that I can to make sure that my taxes are done correctly and successfully.  That’s why studying and becoming knowledgeable on everything that could affect our taxes is one of my priorities.  Taxes are complex, but knowing the facts in your area can benefit you for what comes in the next year.

The city tax rates for 2016 in Lantana, TX are:

Denton ISD

Total: 2.7884%

City/Water: 1.000

ISD: 1.54

County: 0.2484

 

The more you know, the easier it will be to make the right decisions for you and your family.  Whoever said that knowledge is power, was on to something.  I am not a tax expert, but I can give what knowledge I have as a Real Estate professional to help my community.

If you have not claimed a Homestead Exemption on your home, you have until April 30 to do so for next year.  A homestead exemption only allows your property taxes to increase up to 10%.  With values increasing at a rapid rate in our area, it is surely something to look into.

If you are 65 or older, you may qualify for other property tax exemptions.

Good luck with your tax returns this year!

Leave a Reply

